A bit of reading.

Petersgirl

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I noticed there's some amazing work on here about our Axxie friends by some very talented artists. I'm not an artist, but I am a passable writer, so I thought I'd post up something I just wrote for fun.

Enjoy.

The Axolotl Lady

The room was dark; darker than I'd ever imagined a room could be in the middle of the day. Greyish beams of faint light peeped through heavily curtained windows, and I couldn't believe how cold the air was, especially after the scorching Mexican sun.
My eyes slowly adjusted to the gloom. I could see lines of tables with what looked like fish tanks on top of them in vertical rows, like an army of wood and glass. I breathed in deeply, smelling pond water, earth and a chemical smell I didn't recognise. Lining the walls were dark cupboards, and beneath them was an old fashioned dresser overflowing with jars and bottles of various sizes and shapes. I itched to pick them up and squint at their labels, to discern their contents, to know about the mysteries in this strange little house in the middle of Mexico.
The man who'd brought me here had long since vanished, making his way with catlike ease to an open doorway at the end of the room as if he'd lived here all his life. I was alone to look at the treasures this room might hold; the answers it might be privy to.

I crept forward cautiously, noticing the floor was made completely of wood but that my footsteps were softened by a thin layer of dust. Something about it felt comfortable, rather than neglected, as if the occupant had mopped it only the day before and the chaos of dirt was only just descending. I was aiming for the nearest tank, and as I crept closer, a large, long shape inside it became more visible through the gloom and the condensation that lay across the glass. I wiped my hand across it, then removed a small pen torch from my jeans, using it to peer into the water.