California giant turned black?

Elpresidente

Reaction score
Country
United States
Total salamander noob here. I have 2 salamanders given to me by a friend. My best Google guess is they are California giant salamanders. Over a year old each. A couple of weeks ago one unburied itself after spending the last couple of weeks underground. It is now black and looks/feels leathery. The other looks the same as when I received it. Is this an issue? Here are pics of the two.
VZv1DFGCNuMjsE6M7

74cY1VZA4gbWovwQ6

Right clicking on the pictures I could see one lovely healthy looking Tiger salamander and one that does look very unwell.
Could you maybe add some more photo's? I personally would remove the sickly one from the current set up and place in a lidded container with damp kitchen paper towel and place somewhere cool and dark. I suspect you may need to look for a vet to treat this one.
Could you pleas give us some more information on how you are keeping them and what you are feeding them as well

Last edited:
I agree with Julia - it would be best to consult with a vet knowledgeable in caudates, but those can be few and far between. We do need more information if we are going to be able to help you, like at what temperatures you have been keeping the animals, how wet is the substrate as well as what type of substrate you are using. I also agree with Julia in that the animal should be housed in a separate container right now, in a cool, dark location.

Best of luck,

HJ