Question: My first tank setup...

Mattwillie

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi all! First time Axolotl owner here.

Wondering if you could give me some feedback on my tank setup. I'm a teacher and so have set up this tank for ease of cleaning but also to make sure my little Axolotl (named Lockheed) is happy and so my students can best watch her move and grow.

The tank is 60cm L x 32cm W x 36cm H with a fountain filter thing that I've set at a low water flow and placed a plant under as well to stop the strong current. The temperature is at 16 Celsius. I do live in Sydney though so for summer I'm looking into making a mesh tank top (rather than the glass one on it now) and getting a fan or two set up to keep the temperature down.

I've opted for bare bottom and she's (I'm thinking she anyway) able to move easily around on the ground but she seems to enjoy swimming laps when I arrive in the early morning.

I tried feeding her worms for the first time yesterday as she wasn't taking the pellets but she when I woke up this morning, I noticed she'd thrown them up. I just fed her two pellets then and she seems to have taken them.

76234ccc883faafe106b60c1931ae979.jpg

Any thoughts on gender?
4ba9bd3ca6b320637447216a3d3672e3.jpg

View from above.
35295d6a26e3f6ce26dbba225eab223b.jpg

Side view.

Thanks! Any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

A tank without substrate does make cleaning easier. :happy:
Lockheed looks quite healthy, your tank looks pretty good, and it is great that you are showing such a wonderful animal to your students. You may want to consider a second hide, but if she seems comfortable as the tank is, then it's not a big concern.