Responsible disposal of eggs?

Petersgirl

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey, guys.
Just wondering about an issue I've been thinking about.

One of my girls, Embry, recently laid an awful lot of eggs. She last laid last year, in March, so I'm not too worried about her. I did raise a batch of axxies last year but I couldn't do it again so I decided to freeze the eggs.

As I took them downstairs, my Dad took them off me and put them in our pond. There must have been about 170 eggs in total.

Now, here's what I'm wondering; is it fair or responsible to do this? The pond isn't huge and I've no idea how many will survive, and I'm worried how it will affect any local wildlife.

Was this a really stupid idea? What if we have oodles of axxies in this tiny pond and they get picked off by gulls?

Sorry if I sound a bit over the top but I've never done this before and I'm a little worried. The eggs would be 3 days old now.

No, releasing non-native animals is illegal, let alone irresponsible. Chances are they will succumb to predators or illness anyway.

I suggest you retrieve the eggs and freeze them as planned, or if you have the stomach for it put them back in with their parents and let nature do it's thing there instead of in the pond.

I thought so.

The pond is in our garden and closed off, so the only way it could get into the ecosystem is if another animal ate them, since if they got into the garden they'd likely dry up.

I'll fish them out and freeze them.

The weird thing is, I'm sure that I've heard of other people raising axolotls in ponds as well. Is what they're doing theoretically illegal?

I was also thinking about what Linda Adkins said in her book. She says it's a good idea to let the adults eat the eggs and reabsorb the nutrients, but I've never actually seen the adults do this and my fear is that they'd hatch and then be eaten as larvae. Either way, I'd rather freeze them before they can feel anything.