Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Planted Tanks?

Zalesa

Reaction score
Hi all!

I am very interested in doing a planted tank for my axolotl. I've read through a lot of forums posted here but all of it has mostly just been plant types and I'm still pretty clueless. I just don't know where to begin. I have the list of recommended cold water plants but I just don't know about the lighting. How long do you keep your lights on and is your axie bothered by it? Also, do you use CO2 or any ferts at all?

I've never done a planted tank before so I'm basically completely oblivious. If anyone would like to talk me through step by step you'd be amazzinngg lol.

Thanks a bunch!
Lauryn

Donna001

Reaction score
I changed my axolotl tanks from artificial plants to live plants last month. I have a sand substrate and used java fern and anubias sp. tied to the decor so that I didn't have to plant anything. None of the tank are in direct sunlight, and during the recent warm weather in the UK I didn't put the tank lights on as I had changed to mesh lids with fans to help with reducing the water temperature. The plants are growing, even with the low levels of light they are currently getting.
I did put the tanks lights on for a couple of hours a day before the weather got too warm. The axolotls didn't really appreciate this to start with, but got used to it quite quickly.
I have pictures of both tanks in my personal photo albums, if you want to have a look at my set ups.
:happy:

Dell

Reaction score
Hey,