Help

brightstar34

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Courtney
I went to the pet store and I found this axolotl I couldn't leave him/her.. Im very new to having an axolotl and I dont know what to do. I didnt have time to cycle since it was on the spur of the moment. The temp is 18• c. I dont know if I should put a filter in there or a hide out since hes/shes so bad off, missing 2 gills, a leg, the tail is practically gone and it looks like the skin is flaking off. They had the axolotl in with another fish and that might have been the issue. Im about to try and feed some blood worms. What should I do?

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    80.5 KB · Views: 209
Here's another picture. He did eat a few bloodworms but it look like he had trouble opening his mouth too. He moves around but very slow.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    60.3 KB · Views: 190
I decided to name him Ace. Well Ace is starting to be more active and move around and his body isn't as red anymore but now there is fungus growing on his tail.I noticed that yesterday and gave him a salt bath, I believe I caught it in time because now the fungus is almost gone. I did find a stone this morning so I think he ate some gravel, since there was gravel in his tank where I got him from. So i'm kinda in a dilemma if I should fridge him or not. Ace is starting to get his appetite back but he is still so skinny and his wounds are still bad.