Bacterial Bloom lasting over a month...?

Lester137

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all,

I've been experiencing a bacterial bloom in my 20 gallon axy tank (2 axolotls, 1.5-2 years old each) for almost 2 months. I'm a bit new at this but when it started, I had just cleaned out my filter. I was getting slime all over the place and ended up cleaning the filter way too much. A day or two later when it started getting cloudy, I came here and realized I started a bacterial bloom.

I've read almost all the threads on this forum concerning bacterial blooms, most saying just be patient and do regular water changes. I've also been to my local pet shop and asked the guy what I'm doing wrong. He sold me a new sponge filter (I only had a crappy whisper 20 filter in there before) and told me it would take a few weeks but that I should start to see progress within a month. It's not getting any better and I've had the new filter plus a second over the tank filter running for weeks. I can't help but wonder if there's more going on than just a bloom, and I worry about my axys health. I've read it doesn't hurt them, but I can't help but wonder. Also, it looks awful. I can barely see them which makes feeding time (I do it by hand) quite the ordeal. Speaking of food, I give them frozen shrimp 3-4 times a week by hand to avoid overfeeding/leftovers. Could it be the shrimp that's doing this to my tank?

Also, perhaps they are just outgrowing this set up and I should start cycling a new tank? I've also been told to get a more bad*ss filter, and that the little plastic hang over the tank filters just don't cut it.

What do ya'll think?

(Oh, and my levels are all normal, I do regular checks of my water.)