Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hiya! I'm Odd!

Odd

Reaction score
I'm new to axolotls but not aquariums or exotic pets. I fell in love with the idea of an axolotl and became enamored with the the challenge of planting a tank that an adventurous lotl wouldn't be able to tear up. I've kept planted tanks for many years and have no anxiety about cycling and am very accustomed to caring for medically needy aquatic animals from my time caring for and advocating for betta fish.

Below is my tank right now with the final hardscape and preliminary placements of plants. The pot still needs the door cut out, you can see where I've sketched it out. For plants, anubias will go on top, java fern will line the back part of the driftwood and any plant lets I have will go on the flat part in front of the outflow. Moss will actually be glued to the pot above the hole and it will grow to hang down like a curtain :)

If anyone has a male black melanoid axolotl that is at least a year old, please let me know! I am planning to have my tank up for about a month to work out any kinks before I get my axie, but I know what I want and when I want it!

75e347371076bb4f57ae533ff6e6fd47.jpg

Here is a sketch of what it will look like in the end :)

cbc27657bc0aa91597481429d049fc04.jpg

Chinadog

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi, welcome to the site!
If you have experience with aquariums you should be fine with the Axolotls. They seem more sensitive to nitrate than most fish I've kept in the past, but apart from that it's the same deal.