Skinny Axolotl

Woollybear

Reaction score
Country
United States
She has good appetite, but is losing weight at alarming rate. She eats earth worms, blood worms, salmon pellets. Any ideas what is wrong with her? She has no obvious sign of disease, her tankmate is healthy, and the water is clean. I am worried about her :(

Please could you try to post some pictures of your axolotl as this will be very helpful.
What are your water parameters? Are there any other symptoms or signs of stress?
When did your axolotl start to lose weight? Have there been any changes in behaviour?
I'm not very experienced with axolotls, bt the more information and pictures that you can provide the quicker the experienced people will be able to offer you advice and help you and your axolotl.
Best of luck and I hope that we can help you to resolve any problems.

I will try to get a picture of her tonight after work, but some things I thought might be bothering her were warm water (maxed out at 74 F), temperature that fluctuated too much, or a different filter on the tank putting out too much current despite a baffle. People seem to report loss of appetite with stress though, and she certainly wants to eat.

Hi,
I know this is an old thread, but my axolotl is having the same problem. There are two other axies in the same tank that are doing fine. Did you ever figure out what was wrong/how to treat it?

Can you post pictures of your axolotl, Alex?

I am not sure how to upload pictures, so here are the links to them.

https://imgur.com/mbWAiXn
https://imgur.com/eo5pt4R

he seems to be having a little difficulty swallowing his food, but he has no lack of appetite. I gave him a small piece of worm today and he spent a while moving it back and forth in his mouth.
His two tank mates and the two other axies I have are all on the same feeding schedule and are perfectly healthy.