Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

New to axolotl keeping, got 2 rescues!

Aquakeeper

Reaction score
16864706_1425885827484432_5133612789864275305_n.jpg

hey! These are my two newest babies. Tangerine and clementine. Theyre rescues- i just got them two days ago. They had been in a critter keeper. What do you think of their gills? do they look healthy to you guys? Clementine at the front there’s gills concern me. they get along, i think they grew up together.

im new to axolotl keeping, but i have a couple years experience in general aquarium keeping.

im feeding them a mix of pellets, earth worms and blood worms. theyre eating really well, no problems with that at all.

i have an aquaclear 20 filter on there at the lowest setting with that airstone– its a 20g, do you think thats too much turbulence??

also what do you estimate their age to be?

Jazzy says yarr

Reaction score
Awww! They look like such sweeties :)
Congratulations on your sweet babies!

I could be wrong, but it looks like Clementine, the one in the front, is a waterdog? That would make it a juvenile tiger salamander, which would in turn contribute to the appearance of its gills.

But im also pretty new at this, so hopefully someone more experienced will let you know whats up :)

Good luck with your new water babies!

Aquakeeper

Reaction score
oh dear. you think so? That might be a problem, my mother has a thing against keeping a amphibians and reptiles in captivity by any means- she wasnt happy with these guys, but only allows them due to them being fully aquatic. Will she stay like an axolotl and most likely not morph?

Shed likely make me rehome any that go land-dwelling.

Wysper

Reaction score