Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: My new axolotl can't close her mouth?

mken48

Reaction score
Hi there. This is my first time posting on this website but I've been lurking the forums for quite some time now. Everyone on here always seems to offer the best advice so I thought it'd be worth a shot to ask for help.

This past Friday I became the first time owner of two adult axolotls. The previous owner didn't know much about them (clearly). He had them on a turtle food diet, with some sort of tetra reptile filter, and the tank was completely bare without even a shelter for the axolotls to hide in.

Since we got them we have upgraded the filter to a fluval (I "seeded" some of the filter media from my betta's cycled tank to help reduce the strain of the cycle). I realize that the tank is technically cycling right now with the new filter so I am keeping up with constant testings and water changes to make sure the axies are ok. Right now the PH is 7.6, ammonia has a small spike at 0.25ppm (I know, not good, gonna work on that more today), nitrites at 0 and nitrates at 5.

The axies now have sand, some PVC pipe to use as a little cave, and moss balls. I also have a fan running at all times that keeps the tanks temperature at a steady 64 F. I'm planning on relocating the axies to a bigger tank but for now they're in a 20 gallon with a divider to separate since they are male and female.

Anyways, sorry for all the backstory. Wade, my leucistc seems to be in perfect health. He looks good, eats well, and acts like a normal axolotl (from what I've seen/read). Blair, my female, seems to have something off about her.