Illness/Sickness: Help! Injured axolotl and I don't know what to do

Couch

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm not new to fish keeping or anything like that but I am new to axolotls. Yesterday I brought home a very lovely axolotl and put him in a ten gallon tank along with a medium African clawed frog and a cichlid. The cichlid I was planning on taking it to a fish place that specializes in cichlids because he got way to big and was aggressive. This morning I checked on my axolotl and discovered that my cichlid had bitten off his gills and caused some damage to the skin around the gills. I immediately moved the cichlid to a holding tank and I severely regret not moving him sooner. At the moment he seems to be doing alright as he is laying on top of my aquatic plants and getting air from the surface. My filter is very close to the surface and has a bar that prevents splash. I also turned on a bubbler to keep the water oxygenated. What do I do now to help him with the regeneration process? I heard that it usually takes a couple weeks and that giving them tea baths speed it up. I still have him in my main tank along with my ACF(he's quite friendly) and a few apple snails. I didn't want to move him to a separate container because he had just arrived and I thought it would only stress him. Any help and advice is much needed.

Use black tea once or twise a day to prevent infection or fungus. Keep the water clean. He should regenerate, but they are not ok with fish, as this tends to happen. You can keep him with the frog, but he may end up eating it.

I gave him a black tea bath last night and he didn't seem to mind. Both the frog and the axolotl are about the same size and he is pretty docile. Is there anything else I can do to prevent infection and help the healing process?