Newt behaviors?

parkchim

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, I recently bought two baby newts, and I was wondering if they way they are behaving is considered normal. I've done some research before getting them of course, but as I'm new to this hobby I just wanted to make sure if they are healthy or not.

1. One of my newts seems to stay in the water frequently, hanging around by the rocks but never quite getting out of the water. The other newt at first mostly stayed in the water, but now stays on land literally all the time and barely gets in the water with the other one. Which behavior is more normal; staying in the water or staying out of the water?

2. The newt staying out of the water seems to sneeze, and I've seen it yawn? a couple of times. Is it normal for a newt to open it's mouth while out of the water (I've had a turtle that died of respiratory infection, and he constantly opened his mouth to gasp for air while on land)

3. Is it normal for them to float or sink? The one that stays mostly out of the water floats when in the water, while the one in the water sinks.

4. Is it normal for them to constantly swim up to the surface, stick their head out and blow a bubble (to breathe, I guess? Because they have lungs?), or is this considering gasping for air and a respiratory infection?

5. I've never seen any of them really eat (I've been offering frozen bloodworms), but I've seen poop lying around every morning I get up even after cleaning the tank.

6. Just as a question, does anyone know what type of newts these are anyway?

The person who sold them said they were eating and growing quite healthily as he was taking care of them. I currently have them in a 20 gallon tank with a filter (that has very little current), and the water temperature at 66-68F.

I'm sorry for all these questions! I just hope they don't end up dying and I want to keep them as long as possible! Sorry again and thank you!

Attachments

• 20170507_222201.jpg