Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Checking my Research

IsaiahKey

Reaction score
Hello all! So I have been researching axolotls pretty intensely for a few days, with the idea being of getting one (or preferably a pair if I can swing it) after my kitten becomes a kitty and we've settled into a routine (so at least six months? Probably longer). This is giving me plenty of time to get everything I need/want and properly cycle a tank. Oh, and ask the weight limit on a fish tank, since I live on the second floor of an apartment complex. If I can't clear that, then I have to wait til I eventually move out.

But I have some holes in my knowledge, so I thought I'd see if you all could help me!

First off, I've seen mixed reports on the size tank to get for a pair of axolotls, ranging from 20 longs to 4+ feet in at least one direction. I currently have a 20 long at my disposal, potentially two in the future when I upgrade my cornsnake to a 40 gal home. However, I mentioned above that I live on the second floor of an apartment. It's a fairly old building, so I don't feel safe doing anything bigger than a 20 long here. Can I safely put two fully grown axolotls in a 20 long or should I wait to get a second when I have more freedom and foundational integrity for something bigger?

Tied into that question, do axolotls do better in pairs? Would same-sex pairs be fine, or are there aggression issues? If they do better in pairs and I only have space for one, I'd rather wait until I can have a pair than make the one feel lonely.