• No, I don't think it's a good idea

Votes: 1 20.0%

• Total voters

Dillzio

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi all,

I have a sick axolotl, he seemed to get a wound on his leg then had all this white fungus stuff growing on him, he became lethargic on stopped eating. He ended up loosing the leg, and sometimes he'd even roll onto his back, I was seriously worried he wouldn't make it.

I read up on the condition here Axolotls - Health & Diseases and using a combination between what I read there, what I've used successfully for my frogs before, and what I learnt in microbiology (I have a BSc with honours) I came up with a bit of a treat regime. It's been going for 5 days now and he's much more energetic, seems to be in less pain, looks much better (all the white fungus stuff gone) and he's just started eating again.

First line of treatment was fridging, and making up a mild antiseptic solution for him. I transferred him into a small-medium bucket, filled it with about 3L of tank water (which already has 2g/L rock salt in it), and added another approx 5g of salt (about 2 small teaspoons or one and half large teaspoons) and 1mL betadine, and kept the bucket either outside when the weather was cold enough (it's winter here in Adelaide) or in the fridge which I set to about 10 degrees. The water needed to be changed daily as he seemed to poop a fair bit - or maybe it was the dead bacteria falling of his skin, probably both. To avoid a temperature shock, I would cool the replacement water with icepacks to the same temperature before putting the axolotl back in there - I changed and chilled the water while he was in his medicated bath (described below).