Illness/Sickness: My axolotls keep dying, HELP

bjackson

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
So I'm very new to all this, however I have done absolutely everything 'by the book' in accordance with the advice form where I got my axolotls. It's a bit of a story...

It all started about 3 months ago when I bought a pair of very young axolotls, at the same time buying a brand new tank/accessories/water treatments/food etc from the same store (an aquatics place). I was all set to go. Did everything I was advised to do in regards to caring for them etc, so I was pretty upset 3 weeks later when one (Hector) was floating at the top one day & then I found him dead the day after that. I brought the body back to the store & explained the symptoms. I also added that this one had no legs when it was sold to me so I was reckoning it was already at a disadvantage. They agreed & sent me home with a replacement. Meanwhile the remaining of the original pair (Tuco) was doing just fine. Until two weeks ago. Same thing was going on as with Hector but for a couple of days. I went back to the store for help and advice, spoke in depth with 3 senior members of staff for almost an hour, and by the end of it the only thing they could come up with was...nothing. Not a damn thing. They even tested the water and it was absolutely immaculate. I went home and spent hours online trying to figure it all out. The next day I bought something to treat swim bladder and also some aquarium salt. But it was too late, Tuco was dead when I got home from work.

Now I'm left with Hector's replacement, which will remain nameless for now because I don't want to get attached just yet.