Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Help! My babies aren’t growing!?

Jessdino

Reaction score
This is my first time raising Axolotl larvae and I’m getting a bit worried. My albino babies are growing much slower than my others? Is this a normal thing? I’m not sure. I sepreated all the albinos from the others because it looked like they weren’t eating as much as the others, but they still aren’t getting much bigger. Do they look okay? I attached a photo of my albinos with a penny and the others. They hatched between the 11th-14th. Most of the albinos were hatched first.

DEEA5C92-97D4-4709-97ED-3BDF6CABFC93.jpg

4973DF59-A941-4B6E-9CD4-BDA5E77AEFDB.jpg

Jessdino

Reaction score
It’s been about a week and some of my albinos look like they haven’t grown at all since they hatched. I decided to separate by size tonight and have about 11 I’d considered haven’t grown and didn’t appear to have eaten. I put them in a separate container with shallower water to try and get them closer to food for tomorrow’s feeding. My other albinos are a bit bigger and to appear to be eating just fine. While a majority of the colored babies are 3 to 4 times the size of these 11 albinos. Only about 6 of my 42 albinos are caught up in size to the 50+ colored ones. Any advice would help. Is this normal for albinos? They’ve been under the same environment and feeding schedule as the rest of the babies. The albinos just seem to be developing much slower and are a lot less active than the others.

Bellabelloo

Julia
Staff member
Reaction score