Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: Garys not doing well

GarytheAxol

Reaction score
Hi, so I am a new owner to an axolotle named Gary. Im actually new to owning anything other than a dog and I'm very concerned cause he does not look good. He seemed to be fine when I first got him but has declined this week. We noticed on Monday that he had diarrhea. The pH seems to be very high in his water, despite using pH decreaser. If anyone has some recommendations for what I need to put in his water to make him better I'd really appreciate it. I think I'm going to go get some ICK stuff I saw at the pet store the other day. He does appear to have scaly, whitish areas and his gills dont look good either.
I put different sand in cause the stuff he had before was too big. I used play sand that I washed but its still looking pretty murky in his water.
Also, what method does everyone use to keep the water cool enough? Ive just been putting frozen water bottles in there cause it has been too warm.

Ive attached some pics, although I'm not sure you can really see how he looks in it.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

-Kaitlin

Attachments

• Gary 1.jpg
    Gary 1.jpg
    364.8 KB · Views: 180
  • gary 2.jpg
    gary 2.jpg
    397.4 KB · Views: 147
  • gary 3.jpg
    gary 3.jpg
    457 KB · Views: 165

Eternie

Reaction score