Dying axolotl :(

Skelly

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hello- this is my first time ever using a forum, hopefully im doing it right.

I really need some help for my axilotl Skelly. This is going to be a long one- so bear with me.

I've had skelly since August last year, I got her as a baby from an aquarium.
shes always been a pain to feed- I have to litterly dangle food right in her face or she won't eat at all.
She was eating frozen food- but slowly lost interest: I swapped to earthworms and she loved them- but she slowly stopped eating at all.
She would occasionally show interest- but if she took one bite would spit it out.
Then she didn't show much interest at all- she would approach the food then swim to the surface for air.

she hasn't eaten for weeks- and is very skinny... she would occasionally float- and her legs would sort of be vertical. I came home to find her floating head down bum up- and was struggling to get her bum down. I've been refrigerating her ever since. Maybe a week or two now. But it hasn't made her look any healthier- she's pooped small green stuff only twice, and she's looking very veiny and horrible.

I'm almost certai she will die- but I don't want to give up. I've tried to improve her tank with plants and more places to hide- and have started introducing tank water to her fridge container- so I can put her back in the tank (she doesn't float anymore) but hasn't eaten still- and I have a feeling she won't eat. :/

Re: Dying axilotl:(

Hello , sorry to hear that your axie is having issue.

Here are few things for to work on.

Water quality ,
Ammonia
Nitrite
Nitrates

How do I check the ammonia, Nitrite and nitrates?

Hello I was just editing my post when ISP decided to have internet outrage, that was not my full post.

Ok so you will need to get test kit that has those what I would suggest is API Freshwater Master Test Kit best one for the buck, there are various other strip like ones as well but API one will last you much longer!