Herpotology as a career?

J

jameswei

So, i graduated with a degree in biomedical engineering, without much understanding of what i want to do with my life. Im considering everything and anything, from law school, to med school, to business school. I've come across herptology, and so far, from what i have learned, it is an extremely interesting field but not that much in demand. Is there any herptologist here or people who have experiences with this field?

You could work at a zoo like myself and a few others here.... although, I think a requirement for being a zoo keeper is knowing that you always wanted to be one. It is a specialized job (sorta), but it pays terrible, and with a degree like yours, you'd just be angry that you're not getting paid more lol.

Not to say you shouldn't do it, just make sure if you want to, that you really really want to.

Other areas you should look into are field researchers. Look in to colleges for those types of jobs. A good place to keep up on whats available is www.CNAH.org

On the right side of that page, you'll find a listing for job opportunities, and something usually pops up around once a month - always something interesting, with fairly decent pay. Usually they require a bit of experience, so you may want to find other ways to get involved with field work (such as an assistant at a college level).

Good luck, and I'm sure others here will be able to reccomend some other outlets of jobs in Herpetology.

I will second what Kyle says is that in general working for Zoos and Museums have a terrible pay scale. The best pay is for those who work at a major university and teach as well as conduct research (and publish various books). Regardless this is a field where you won't ever be rich (unless you play the lottery). The best you can hope for is that you can be comfortable but you will have to make some sacrifices to do so. If you don't love herpetology for itself, then you may not like it once the newness has worn off..

Ed