Found Salamanders in a puddle

E

ellena

So today at my dads house I saw a huge puddle where he rides his quads and it seems water had formed in the tire tracks. Well so upon closer examination, the whole thing was FULL of tadpoles and some species of salamander although I dont know what kind. Question first off should I go back once a week and add water to keep it from drying up so they all have a chance or should I leave it alone? also do you know what species of salamander this is?

64790.jpg

64791.jpg

this is one of the babies that I had the eggs of a while back. I took one egg out of the case and kept it and returned the rest of the egg mass.

64792.jpg

Hey, I'm not an expert but I've been running around newt sites for several years now. Those look like Axolotls to me (sp?). handsome little guys. I wish there were newts just wandering about where I live.. of course there's too much concrete in LA for that. Anyhoo be sure to @ least check my guess you may find a clue.
happy.gif

how bout some shots from the side? do you know what species live in your region? if not tell us you region and we can give you a list.

Ok just took some more. I live in the PNW in Vancouver, WA right across the river from Portland, OR. These guys were just found in a puddle and since we arent near Mexico or California I would say not Axolotl right?

They are Soooo cool looking though! Their gills are huge and fan-like!
64800.jpg

64801.jpg

64802.jpg

64803.jpg

64804.jpg

Any ideas are great, id appreciate it.

I don't think Axolotls are native to that area, are they?

Ellena, about the puddle: If you go back to refill it, the animals may survive, but as mother nature is sometimes quite cruel, naturally most of them will perish anyway, even if they survive the puddle ordeal. It would be interesting if you had another puddle nearby which you did not fill, and compared the metamorphose rate in the two.