Books: Newt Culture/Propagation

andrew

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Display Name
Andy Baker
Hello
I am a former Salmo salar farmer and rancher (Wales, Scotland, Ireland & Canada). I live in South East New Brunswick, Canada. I have several spring fed ponds with a seemingly good population of newts and frogs, (no fish). I have always had an interest in ponds and pond life and would greatly appreciate any book recommendations on newt species identification and life history plus books on artificial culture of newts, especially those native to Eastern Canada. I can utilise ground water and was thinking of using gravity to take the water through a series of holding units placed on a hillside, which is immediately below two of the newt-rich ponds!
Thanks,
Cheerio,
Andrew

I had to read your profile to figure out what is "salmo salar". You have farmed salmon, which should be a good preparation for raising aquatic caudates!

I don't know of any books relevant to "farming", or even outdoor culture of caudates. The problem for most caudates is that, unlike salmon, they crawl away when they grow up! I suspect there are species you could raise in ponds, though. Dwarf sirens come to mind. Any other ideas out there?

Andrew
I have no idea about books on husbandry either but here is a link to the amphibian species of New Brunswick
http://www.carcnet.ca/english/tour/b_7.html. The people at the amphibian conservation network may be able to point you in the right direction.
There is only one species of newt in Eastern Canada - the red spotted newt (Notophthalmus viridescens). Basically the most abundant caudate species here in Nova Scotia are the yellow spotted salamanders, the red spotted newt and the red backed salamander, New Brunswick may be similar but I am not sure. Here is another link for salamander in Nova Scotia.
http://museum.gov.ns.ca/mnh/nature/salamand/