Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Starting a new tank

S

shirow

Hi,

I've been keeping about three japanese firebellies for a couple of years. However, from reading the site, it appears I've been doing quite a few things wrong!

I'm moving soon and would like to setup a new, 55 gallon tank. Can someone suggest suitable components to start this tank up? Right now I have a 20 gallon tank with an Eheim filter.

I can spend a maximum of about $500-700 on the new tank. I've found a tank and stand for about $150. Any suggestions are appreciated.

S

shirow

To expand on my previous tank, it's 20 gallon with about 4 inches of water. It has three rocks piled up to form an 'island'. It also has some underwater wood and a few plants. It has a small Eheim filter which runs down one rock (to not make too much current.)

I think what I have done wrong so far is to use gravel too large, not change enough water often enough, and not feed them correctly. I've been putting a small amount of bloodworms or brine shrimp (frozen) in about 3 times a week. I read this is a bad idea though, as it's likely much will go under the gravel and rot. I did have a paddletail in, but he had a fight with one of the firebellies and ripped off one of their legs
sad.gif
I currently have them separated with the firebelly in his own tank, as I'm hoping his leg will grow back.

Anyway, any tips on the new tank you can provide would be appreciated. I will be keeping a separate 20 gallon for my paddletail (is it wise to put multiple paddletails in one tank?) and putting the firebellies in the 55gallon (I hope to get some friends for them.)