Compatability issue??

N

nic

Hi everyone,
I'm new to your sight and have to say I love it. I am very excited to see so much interest and know there are so many knowledgeable people out there. I wish I had known about the expertise here before I bought my new sallies, I could have gotten cb's from here instead of wc and cr that some guy got from the environment! Sorry in advance everybody, Sorry mother nature!
I was just wondering if anyone knows if it's okay to keep Ambystoma laterale and
Ambystoma maculatum in the same terrarium.
After many years of wanting to keep salamanders, I finally found a distributer on the
internet where I could purchase some spotted salamanders. The only problem? It's too warm where
I live. So after a lot of research I found a thermoelectric air to air device I could place on the hood of the 20 gallon (insulated) that keeps
an ambient 78 degrees to 66 f.
Anyway, the distributer sent me babies because I wanted to start them out young in order to acclimate them. They are a little over a year old but laterale is definitely growing faster and seems more aggressive. Should I place a divider in the tank? I've been wanting to keep these guys all my life and now with the advancement of thermoelectric cooling making it possible (and a few hundred dollars later), I can keep them, but maybe in excitement I planned it all wrong?
thanks in advance everyone,
Nic

LOL! Uh oh, you stepped in the big doo doo now. Sorry, just trying to be funny.

Keeping mixed herps is wrong.

Absolutely put in a divider, buy seperate tanks. Caudata has some excellent care sheets. And if they are WC you might want to have a vet run a fecal culture on them for internal parasites.

Did you buy the cooler?

And yeah, in your excitement you did swerve a little to the wrong side. Its nothing you can't fix though.

http://www.caudata.org/cc/species/species.shtml

Give that link a whirl and find the info that you NEED!

Good luck!

Sharon