Newbie here ...

S

shannon

Hello everybody! My name is Shannon and, well I'm new around here. Currently, I have just newt, it's name is Belly Button. The store I bought it from called it a rough skinned newt, but after reading this (fantastic) website, I'm pretty sure it's actually either a female crested newt, or a fuzhong warty newt. Hopefully at some point I can upload some pics and maybe you guys can help me determine what he actually is... anywho, I'm looking forward to talking to everyone here! Hey, by the way ... this little blue guy is the freakiest emotocon I've ever seen.

Welcome to the forum, Shannon.
happy.gif

yeah stores don't know anything. Just for info what store did you buy the newt from, and what kind of environment were they using to house them? Welcome to caudata!

He came from a little mom-and-pop pet store called Pet World. With the exception of thier amphibians, the other animals for sale actually look quite healthy. (and the don't sell puppies or kittens) My only gripes are with the large White's and green tree frogs being kept in the same set ups as anoles - WAY too dry in there I'd say. And obviously they don't know much about newts. I think there were five or six firebellies and the one "rough skin" in a mini-bow 2.5 gallon. (much no small, no?) There was a plastic rock for them to climb on, and some plants too.

Well you certainly have given your newt a unique name. Fuzhong warty newts and great crested newts are both very different animals.