Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

USA- USPS not accepting amphibians?

E

erik

I have been using USPS express mail for over 13 years to send salamanders. Today I got turned away. I spoke with 3 people (including postmaster) at my local post office who all claim you can not send any live animals with USPS anymore. I thought it might be personal and that they were making this up....so I called the 1800 number and was told that they don't accept cold blooded animals anymore.

Anyone else have this experience? The usps website still states it's ok to send amphibians. This is really unfortunate since the last time I used Fed Ex or DHL the bill was nearly 80.00 for a small box.

Any info appreciated.

Erik

E

edward

Hi Erik,
The regulations may permit them to ship but the final decision is up to the post master at that office. If in thier opinion, they no longer want to ship cold blooded animals then they no longer have to ship cold blooded animals.
Try a different post office and you will probably get a different answer.
Or this may be a new policy that has not made into the regulations as of yet.

Ed

P

paris

mine has not told me otherwise yet, and they knew i shipped a box of frogs last week, i dont see why they can still ship baby chicks and not snakes, etc. for those shippers i knew were squeemish about r&a, i would tell them the 'perishables-keep cool' were rare orchids. if they really have changed their policies doesnt that also then apply to the very large mail order fish trade? this will make things difficult....

J

john