C. Orientalis Egg Care

A

alex

Hey All, I'm new to these forums, been reading them for a while but new to posting and I'm also new to the hobby. About a month and a half ago I researched a lot about care for newts, C. Orientalis more than others, and so I purchased 3 (2 males 1 female). Upon placing the 3 healthy newts in their new setup I noticed that the female looked rather plump and was hoping she was gravid but didn't want to get to excited. Well this evening I came home, checked the tank as I usually do only to notice several single eggs laid on the fake plants I have in the aquarium. I have not removed them yet because I need to get a container that has had no contact with any detergents of any sort. Now I have some questions for the care of the eggs. Once I remove them from the tank and place them in a new container, what kind of filter/aeration would I need for the new container? Would an oxygen stone be sufficient or would a fluval filter be better? I'm thinking the fluval would be too much of a current but I'm hoping I can get some answers and also how often will I need to do partial water changes for the eggs? Any help would be greatly appreciated and I look forward to this forum and all of you that post here!

Thanks in advance! :D
-Alex

An airstone would do fine, as would a small world, or simular filter.
I wouldn't use a fluval, as there is a good chance of the eggs, and then the small larvae being sucked into the filter.

Once the eggs are hatched and the larvae are feeding, I would advise partial water changes, between every other day, and twice a week, depending on the amount of larvae,size of container.

MORG

Alex, check out this article:
http://www.caudata.org/caudatecentral/articles/MACKE1.html