Tiger salamander hasn't eaten for 2 months or so. please help...

N

nick

hi im new at this. ive had my tiger since he was little, i've had him for 1 1/2 years now. and 5 months ago i got sick of maintaining eco earth dirt so i got him a carpet and moss instead. i dont know if that has anything to do with him not eating. but i give him crickets and worms every week and they just die in his habitat. he hasnt eaten for 2 months or so. whats goin on? is this a phase?is this normal? how long do they go without eating? thanks so much

What kind of moss did you use? I would recommend switching back to eco-earth (coco fiber), it's a better substrate for sals. Some mosses are very acidic, and this causes a slow death.

It's common for sals to eat less in winter. But 2 months w/o eating is too long. Be careful about putting in crickets - uneaten crickets can nibble on the salamander.

i bought this moss at petsmart called fluker's. is that brand okay? i just bought bed-a-beast dirt from petsmart aswell. im switchin him over tonight. is bed a beast okay? how often should i throw crickets in there? and how many at a time? i just throw 12 in there all at the same time once a week. thanks

Yes, Bed-a-beast is the same thing as eco-earth, and both are OK. They have a fairly neutral pH. You should not put 12 crickets in at once, particularly if the animal isn't eating. As I mentioned, crickets will chew on salamander skin if there is nothing else in the tank for them to eat (poor sal). It's possible that your sal is eating a few of the crickets, but doesn't need 12/week. I'd say put in 1 or 2 crickets and don't add more until those are gone. Also, put some cricket food (like a piece of potato, lettuce, or carrot) in the tank so the crickets have something to eat.