Red-Spotted Newt Substrate

C

caitlin

I'm very new to newts (harhar), but I'm having some trouble with choosing a substrate. We're using moss right now, but we never see him, so we'd like to go to a more solid substrate. We live in New York City, so soil from around here is out of the question. I'm thinking about Lizard Litter Jungle Mix, but I wasn't sure if it's good for him. He's still an eft, pretty little, and the pet store people said that he couldn't use the sand because he might ingest it and it would cause a blockage. They suggest lizard carpeting, which so isn't going to happen. It's ugly and I've heard it might hurt his skin. So yeah, um, long question short: lizard litter jungle mix good or no? Thanks for any help!

http://www.caudata.org/people/JM/design.html

http://www.caudata.org/cc/faq/FAQhou.shtml

These links should answer all your questions about substrat.

The short answer (not necessarily what the above links will tell you)is that you should jsut use coconut fiber. I've tried lizard litter jungle mix before and i nearly lost a tiger because of it. Lizard Little Jungle mix dries up too fast and requires too much watering. Coconut fiber, is cheap, easy to maintain (you dont have to water it as much) and is free of chemicals and biological containmants.

cheers,

Even with the (near) adult spotted newts, they tend to hide a lot when on land. It's natural for them to do so. Have you tried "training" your newt? Always mist the tank at the same time and provide food at that time too?

I agree with James that coconut fiber retains moisture better and is cheaper. I have used the Jungle mix lizard litter, but I was mixing it with coconut fiber.

If you cannot see the newt, are you sure it is eating? Also, is it still an eft (which must stay terrestrial) or could it be an adult (which could be kept aquatic)? See:
http://www.caudata.org/cc/species/Notophthalmus/N_viridescens.shtml

Thanks for the info on the coconut fiber!