Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Newt going into filter again!

J

john

I gave stash and cavern, my 2 C.o.s, a new 20 gallon long tank. I separated the tank so it is 1/3 land and 2/3 water. I woke up this morning only to find stash in the filter again. I had a top on it. He must have crawled up this filter and into it. Why would he do that. What should I do.

P

paula

Hi John! I'm new to newts, have one C.O. so far.

I'm pretty sure he climbed it because it was there, lol. And I believe these little guys will climb whatever they find to climb. Hope he's okay!

I have a simple solution for you IF your filter is a hang-on-the-back type- have been doing this on my big frog tanks and it works like a charm.

Get some plastic canvas- you can find it in the craft section at WalMart or at a craft store. It comes in 8 X 11 sheets for about 20 cents a sheet- it's the stuff used for needlepoint work.

Cut the canvas to create a perfect fit (no gaps) around the space where the filter and filter intake tube are. Use electrical tape to tape it snugly to the aquarium hood.

If you have a submersible filter, hmm, good question. There must be some way to prevent the climbing.

~Paula

P

paula

Just wanted to add- if electrical tape is used, make sure there isn't any sticky-side-down directly above the intake tube, where a newt could get stuck to it. Imagine how horrifying that would be. I don't leave any sticky-side-down tape exposed on my tanks.

D

danny