Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hello

J

joel

Hello,

I'm totally new to newts but have experience in fish keeping.

I saw newts for sale at a fish shop and I want to get a few. After checking out about the newts online, I identified them as Chinese Dwarf/Fire Belly Newts (Cynops orientalis) due to their black bodies with red bellies. I have a 45 gallon tank not currently inhabited by any fishes(I'm into fishes so some fish care has some relevance in keeping newts, like water condition and filteration) so I was thinking about keeping newts in there. So comes a few questions:

1. How many Chinese Dwarf Newts can I keep in the tank?
2. Is the newt fully aquatic or will I have to create some dry area for the newts? The shop kept them totally submerged with no land area while another species was provided some land.
3. What should I feed the newts? The shop feeds them live ghost shrimps.

I'll be getting a pair and I have converted a 15 gallon aquarium into a terrarium.

Thanks.

E

elisabeth

Hi, your experience in fish keeping should definitly help you. Especially in knowing about water quality.
Here are some answers for you, and the more experienced keepers can either back me up or call me insane.
wink.gif

1. In your 45 gallon, 5 newts will live together very happily. You might be able to fit one or two more, but they do like their space. In a 15 gallon, I wouldn't put more than 2.

2. They're all individuals, but the best rule of thumb is to have half land half water.