Triturus Cristatus

thomas

Reaction score
Display Name
newton
I got an female Triturus Cristatus, i realy want to start breeding them for release back to nature, but the T.cristatus is rare in my contry and i cant find a male.
Is it possible to get eggs sendt in the male?
I have had my female for 1,5 years and she has dobbeled her size.
Please help us we realy want offspring
Thanks
TH

Thomas, I think the idea to breed them for release back to nature may not be a good idea. You could accidentally introduce diseases to local amphibians, and you could change the genetic make-up of the cristatus population in your area. Before you do this, you should really talk to some local authorities on wildlife!

Newbie here, but looking at the site, note there are several subspecies and hobbyists often keep locality info tagged on there specimens. What about your female? In the aquarium hobby, fish that have somehow lost there location info are simply dubbed"aquarium strain".

Hi Thomas

I would echo Jennifers concerns. Release of captive bred newts into the wild is problematical for a number of reasons.
1. They could effect the genetic profile of the local wild newt population (I have local cases of cristatus/carnifex hybrids which represent a serious problem). 2. Captive bred newts rarely survive in the wild. 3. Potential disease transmission. 4. Within the European Union the unlicenced release of protected specie to the wild is a serious criminal offence.

I am a little concerned by the apparent availability of Triturus cristatus in the pet trade. Within the European Union the trade in T.cristatus is illegal and their posession in captivity strictly prohibited (European Species and Habitats Directive). While there is a grey area regarding the legality of captive populations which came into captivity before the laws enactment in 1994, trade in the species is certainly illegal.

Richard

Richard
Dont worry i am not going to release in the wild!