Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Complete beginner with one wild sallie egg

L

liz

Hi, folks. I found this page looking for info about salamander eggs. My daughter Ana, who is four, found some eggs and a couple of salamanders in a bucket of rain water at the neighbor's house. Apparently the salalmanders climb in there a alot this time of year as they are migrating to lay eggs and the house is right next to a wetland. Ana really wants to raise this one egg. We have it in a small mason jar with holes in the lid and are keeping it on the porch, as I thought it should be at outdoor temperature. Should we do anything for it? Change the water, add algae or plants? I'm thinking it may not be fertile as I don't know if there was a male in the bucket or two females.
How long will it take to hatch if it is?
Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks! LIZ

(Message approved by admin)

L

liz

Well,I was hoping to hear from someone out there! Oh, well, the egg is doing great. We have it in the house in a mason jar with some holes punched in the lid. I've been changing the water every couple of days. The little guy has GROWN, and we can now see the external gills and eyes and her little tail. The neighbors' eggs, which are still outside in the bucket, have not developed nearly as much, and are still round balls, though we can now see what looks like a little fold or slit opening on their sides. We are very excited, but I really want to know how/what to feed this little creature when it hatches...?

S

sherri

Wow...! That's great!