EGGS! What I do now???

F

felipe

My Pleurodeles layed eggs last night and I don't know what I do now! I just take all the pleurodeles off the aquarium! And now?? Should I remove the eggs???And there is one more problem! She put her eggs everywhere! In the rocks, inside her cave, in the walls! What should I do???

Well you should probably move the eggs to another tank. Im not an expert at all but i think thats what your supposed to do. Sorry if im wrong.

But why should the adults eat the other eggs and larvae??? Its so evil! I am doing this way... I put the adults in another tank and let the eggs in their place! If they come to born, I will select the stronger ones! I'm doing right?

This is my opinion, based on raising many newt eggs: it is better to let the adults eat them than to try to raise hundreds and then watch them die from overcrowding. You will see.

If you select the stronger ones, what will you do with the weaker ones?

You should also remember that the larvae will all grow at different speeds due to competition. Larger larvae become more voracious, eat larger food and will quickly grow large enough to eat their brothers and sisters – and they will. The more larvae you keep the greater the competition and greater the range of larval size. So you’ll need plenty of tanks and space if you intend to raise a high number of them. I have 90 Pleuro larvae on the go at the moment – so far divided into three sizes, all laid on the same day. I expect I’ll need more tanks before they morph.

Take peoples advice and raise just a few.

With pleuro's, they're so popular in the pet trade that there's really no need to raise more than a few larvae. If you raise more than that, you run the risk of not being able to house them or move them on to new owners. Nothing's worse than an unwanted caudate.