Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Spanished ribbed newt need help!!!!

A

andrea

I have a few month old Spanished Ribbed Newt. I have had her for about 2 months now in a small non filtered tank. I just put her in a 10 gal tank last night and she was very happy swimming around but this morning all she wants is to get out she keeps trying to jump out. Also last night I noticed she shedding. Is it because she is feeling trauma from the move. I am very new to newts she is my first one and I am really attached to her already so if anyone can help me with any ideas on what is happening with her I would appreciate that.
proud.gif

Spanished Ribbed Newt "Bella"

J

jeff

Perhaps we could help a bit more if you could give us some specifics on the 10 gallon set-up. What temperature is the water at? Do you have any hiding spots/plants for "Bella"? It could be stress due to a new environment, so it is important to have the correct set-up for her to reduce that stress as quickly as possible. Here is the link for the caudata culture caresheet for Spanish Ribbed Newts: http://www.caudata.org/cc/species/Pleurodeles/P_waltl.shtml Please read this over if you haven't already done so, and modify your set-up based on this caresheet. After a few days let us know if "Bella" is doing better.
wink.gif

P

paris