My Chinese fire belly newts experience

mike

Reaction score
Country
England
Display Name
Mike East
Hello,

I'm relatively new to keeping newts though I used to have a few when I was younger, and that was before the Internet so I only had pet shop advice, and that's usually spotty at best.

I recently decided to do away with my aquarium and get some newts, I thought they would be more fun to watch then my fish, and so far, they have been. I had some problems along the way, some I've solved, some I haven't but I thought I would share my experience.

I have a 30 long. I started with 3 Chinese fire belly newts. I bought them from a local pet store (the only one that had any) and they were in pretty bad shape when I got them. I had read that they can choke on small gravel so I removed all the fish tank gravel and bought some river stone, it's kind of like pea gravel but slightly larger with the average stone being at least a half inch in diameter. I stacked up some large rocks on one side and have a small submersible pump that I was using to create a water feature using one of those simulated stone feeding bowls. I placed a fake leafy plant in the bowl and let the water run into the bowl and then it flowed like a waterfall down the rocks and into the water. I filled the aquarium a little more than half full with water and added some other plastic plants. I cycled the tank using some ghost shrimp and a few of my old fish. I added my newts and here's where my problems started.