New to keeping fire bellied newts.

K

keri-leigh

Hi, I got a fire bellied newt on Saturday off my friend for Christmas and I have no idea:

how to look after him
how to set up his tank
what kind of water to use
what other food to feed him apart from blood worms
How often to feed him
how many bloodworms to feed him
how old he is
whether he will survive in english temperatures
why he is trying to avoid the water
if he hibanates

I really need help, I don't think my friend realised I was completely confused.
Miroku (the newt) is about 2 and 1/2 inches long, so approx. how old will he be. Please some-one help me. Thanks -- Keri.

(Message edited by kitai on December 20, 2006)

(Message edited by kitai on December 20, 2006)

Hello,

Im pretty new to keeping firebellies myself, but i found the FAQ sections here http://www.caudata.org/cc/faq/faq.shtml extremely helpful.

Dont worry about the English temperatures, I live in the Midlands, where room temperature seems perfect for them. I found as far as feeding went, a single frozen block of bloodworm every 3 days or so seems enough for my 3 newts. Theyre quite young, a 2 or 3 months old old, but and from the tip of their tails to the head are about 2 inches or so.

Erm, thats about all the help i can give you, the FAQ section is a must though!

One of the biggest mistakes about newts is keeping them too warm. Actually, your newt would be quite at home living in a not-too-cold refrigerator in winter (and no, they don't really hibernate). So keep it cool. The FAQ from Lee and the links from it will answer most of your questions. Use this article to find the correct caresheet:
http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/firebelly.shtml