Still not eating!!!

K

katie

Sparky, my c.o. has not eaten since I got him (about 3 weeks) Recently, i have tried earthworms cut up in little pieces like everyone suggested...He occsionally will bite at one, but then becomes uninterested and walks away..most often, he completely ignores them and just tramples over them.. Is it possible that he just doesnt like the taste of them (he was eating crickets at the pet store I got him from) Is there anything i can do to the worms to make them taste better? I thought I had found the solution to his hunger strike in the worms, but i guess not....any thoughts?

im not an expert, but my newts never ate for months. i dangled some earthworm with tweezers in front of his face till he snapped at it. since then he goes crazy as soon as they hit the bottom. try teasing him

Are you using worms you collect in compost? They have a bad taste. Maybe that's it. Use other worms, the ones you can dig up in the garden are the good earthworms.

Well, the worms never worked...so I reluctantly bought Sparky some tiny crickets (EWW!!!!) I thought this was the solution...BUT NO! He sits there and lets the crickets crawl all over him, sit on his head, and he shows NO interest what so ever!!! I can see his ribs now, any suggestions?

I'm no expert either but I did keep C.O many years ago and remember how hard it was to get them to feed. Mine would only take live bloodworms and other aquatic inverts. Does he go in the water? From your posts it sounds like he's terrestrial. Feeding might be easier if he's more aquatic. Maybe reduce his land to encourage him into the water - just the odd rock protruding rather than a land area. It sounds like he has "pet shop stress" and being on land is his way of dealing with it. Good luck!