Newbie here!

J

jj

Hi all!
Well, after years and years of waiting a pet store here in HI has finally gotten fire bellied newts! I have waited for over 4 years and just tonight, by chance saw two. I bought both. I'm wondering what kind of set-up should I be looking at. I'll be going back to a pet shop to purchase more suitable housing.
Do they need a filter? I've read that it'd be a good idea to have one, but from pictures I've seen I don't see many with them. Please help as I'd like to keep these little dudes around awhile.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

you certanly need to keep the water circulatin g, if you think on filter, something external whould be better because of the temp. as for housing, water mostly would be ok

Thanks for the link. Dane.
happy.gif

Samuel I'm not quite sure I understand what you mean when you say "external".

I have an internal filter (fluval 2 plus) I haven't noticed any temp. changes.

Ryan, I don't think he was referring, to your find, but to JJ Suga's.

Have you compared the temperature in the tank with and without the filter in constant conditions? Any motorized filter will give off heat, depending upon the volume of water the filter is in and the Watts of power it consumes the temperature change can be anything from several degrees to tenths of a degree. A high wattage filter in a small tank will warm the water significantly and a low wattage filter in a large tank will not.

JJ, I'd recommend getting some bottles of frozen water ready to help keep the newt's tank cool. This is often the most difficult part of their husbandry.

Thanks again for all the help. I should be leaving shortly to pick up more supplies. I'm wondering if I should get a under-gravel filter so it doesn't produce a current???? Will do more reading.

I like both sponge and box filters. These don't provide any current, are inexpensive and provide excellent biological filtration.