Little questions about Chinese Firebelly

R

ruth

<font face="arial,helvetica"></font>
Hi , i just bought my first firebelly , and after reading different posts i seem to do so far so good - but i still have some questions.
The tank was a gift and 2 swordtails came with it , is it ok to have them in the same tank or should give the swordtails away?
right now i don't have air filter , should i get one? (the tanks about 4-5 gallons and he/she is living there alone)
i have some kind of wood in the tank , got it from petshop, but i think its making water hazy, should i remove it?
quite beginner
uhoh.gif

*wave* Hi, I'm a newb too, but from what I've read fish and newts don't really mix... Swordtails are tropical, so they'll need a higher temperature than your newt. Find them a new home, I think
happy.gif

Ya newts need it cold. 70 F and under. Anything above that can cause them stress and even death. Take the wood out and soak it in a bucket of water for a day or two. Than put it back in. It shouldnt make the water hazy then. How big is the newt? How much water do you have in there with it? I would recommend like 5 inches of water with a gravel gradient that slopes so you can create a land area. They dont need an air pump, but a low flow filter works nice. You shouldnt have much of a current if any at all. Try to break it up with lots of fake plants or real plants and rocks under the filter to create like a waterfall. Good luck. Ask more questions if you have them.

(Message edited by nuggular on January 10, 2005)

(Message edited by nuggular on January 10, 2005)

thanks =)
he's about 4,5 cm.
his land area at the moment is a rock about 1/5 out of water and i have real plants.
the degrees are near 70 F - about 69 or smth like that , but im working on dropping it a little...
still not quite understand the lighting...