Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Unknown illness. I need help!

Y

yago

Unknown illness. I need help
I just returned from my holidays and all my newts seem ok but not the offspings ’03 of t.marmoratus, t.vitattus and t.boscai!!! I found massive deaths of juveniles, all of them with transparent bellies. The ones that are still alive u can see through their bellies! They have inflated transparent bellies, they also seem to have no coordination while moving.
I have no experience on that illness, bacteria…?
Any help? What is it?
Thank you
5725.jpg

5726.jpg

F

francesco

Hy Yago
Could it be something to do with high temperature? At what t did u keep them?
Francesco

Y

yago

I have AC in my newts room. So temperatures are keep at 24 ºC. Outside temperatures are over 35 ºC! Must be a kind of bacteria or something. It is only affecting those species of juveniles. The main problem is that all are infected or ill
cry.gif

F

francesco

My cellar is 24°C (outside 36°C!!!!!)and all newly metamorphosed animals, week individuals that ate less than the others and the ones I got recently died.The ones that survived are the ones I have had for a year wich didn't have any problems. I have learnt a lesson from this:
1)never get new animals during the warmer months (24°C is allready too high for salamandra and alpestris)
2) The weaker individuals are the first to go if the temperature rises too much while the others can tollerate short periods at 24°C
Here in Italy we usually had a couple of weeks of really high temperature during august, this year we've had 4 months!
Ciao

F

francesco

I was forgetting...