HELP...newt with mouth rot !

T

tammi

I purchased a paddletail newt and noticed later that his mouth looked a little odd. He has always eaten well but I noticed that his bottom jaw is rotting away. It looks like cartilage is showing. I took him out and put him in dirt quarantine but I don't know what to do from here.
I don't know how long he has to stay in potting soil or what else I can do for him. I wiped the area with hydrogin peroxide and have read that I can use neosporin but am afraid since its on his mouth that he may injest it and die. I have novalsan on hand would that work, or can anyone make any suggestions please!

Try to gwet hold of Baytril from a vet. This is an effective bacterial killer for amphibians. If the infection is fungal, get hold of Nystan, again from the vet. You can apply the two together. As pachytriton is a very aquatic genus, you may induce other problems related to stress or skin from the potting soil. I am no expert on this, but if you keep him in shallow water with a hiding place, and change the water frequently, he should do better...see what others think. If you keep him in the water, mix the above chemicals with Aloe Vera gell. This adheres the chemicals to the infected area and prevents them from being washed off immediately. If you can keep him eating, so much the better, especially high protein foods. Remove waste asap from water/potting soil.
Good luck. I think that Ed Kowalski is the most qualified in this area, so see what he suggests.
Chris

Hi Tammi,
I don't know about qualified but I probably would not keep pachytriton terrestrial regardless of the reason.
I also would not use aloe vera compounds in the water as this increases the dissolved organic compounds that can be microbially decomposed increasing the animal's exposure to ammonia and nitrite.