Feeding Daphnia

J

jesper

I'd like to know what you feed your Daphnia how often and how much? I am trying optimize my culturing methods a bit.

I usually just feed my culture(10l of water) twice a week or so. I keep the culture at 18-20C. I feed with activated yeast. I only feed a couple of grams each time - will check more exactly how much(I am a chemist not a chef ok?
happy.gif
)

Any suggestions of improvements would be appreciated(Yes I have read JC's Daphnia article...).

Like you, my methods are not very scientific. I feed daphnia whenever their water goes completely clear, which is usually every 2-5 days. I feed enough to make the water visibly cloudy, just going by eye (impossible to explain). I feed them by pouring in a mixture of yeast, soy powder and spirulina powder suspended in water.

I've red of a method in which you use a tank covered with (floating) algae and add snails.
Daphnia is supposed to feed on the snails expels and other detritus (organic waste) as well as phytoplankton found in the algae.

I haven't tried it myself, but I am about to. I'll let you know how it turns out.

My daphnia tanks have floating duckweed and loads of snails. There has to be some "input" of food to keep the system reproducing. Perhaps feeding the snails instead of directly feeding the daphnia might work, but I think the reproduction would be slower.

Yes I have too much snails in my Daphnia culture, I'm afraid that they use up all the Calcium to make their shells. Also, I think the snails might compete with Daphnia for the yeast I feed them - when the snail population explode the Daphnia population seem to decrease.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>Jennifer Macke wrote on Sunday, 23 January, 2005 - 16:41 :</font>

"Perhaps feeding the snails instead of directly feeding the daphnia might work"<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Sorry, forgot to add that part.
In the method I discribed above you feed the snails fishfood.