Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Photos from Arkansas

R

rodney

I have some land in Arkansas, and have seen several species of herps this spring. I'm no expert, but I will do the best I can with what I have looked up online. This spring, I have seen Eurycea longicauda, Eurycea multiplicata, Notophthalmus viridescens, Plethodon ambagula, Plethodon angustaclavius, and Ambystoma maculatum. Didn't take many photos because didn't have a camera when I saw most of them, but took a few later with a cheap dig cam.

34712.jpg

34713.jpg

34714.jpg

34715.jpg

34716.jpg

34717.jpg

There are many small ponds on the property, many of which have larvae which I assume to be A. maculatum, and most of them also contain N. viridescens. The E. angustaclavius seem to be plentiful as well as the P. ambabula along the small creeks on the property. I hope to find a E. lucifuga, but haven't yet. I will go out this weekend at night and see if I can find one.
Hope you enjoy the photos and I will try to get some better ones!

(Message edited by TJ on April 21, 2005)

P

pamela

Hi Rodney,

Nice scenery! Arkansas is beautiful for sure. Looks like you'll be having fun herping! Thanks for the pics.
happy.gif

R

ralf

Rodney,
I did enjoy the photos. Nice pictures, beautiful piece of land and also nice gravel banks in the river there. Is the river part of your property?

Ralf

R

rodney

Ralf, the river is part of the property: we were lucky to find such a beautiful property. I grew up in NW Texas...flat and dry with very few trees, so I find the hills and trees to be incredible. There are a couple of beautiful bluffs along the creek as well that I will post photos of if you would like to see them.
thanks