Warties

G

greg

Okay. I am still relatively new to Asian salamandrids. BUT, I got 6 Paramesotriton today. 2 of which lack red or orange bellies. They otherwise look like the others (which I think are caudopuncatus)... but the bellies are greenish-gray and lacking any hint of orange.

Is this a different species? I can find nothing in the literature I have indicating that any of the other species lack orange. Or are these older animals? or sick? or males? Basically... what's up with this?

Greg

Greg, congrats on your acquisition! I have a pair of caudos that also don't have red or orange bellies, but rather whitish, light greenish bellies with black dots. The 5 others I keep have orange bellies though. I bought the two without such coloring separately from the others. So it may just be a regional variation...

By the way, they are quite territorial and can be pretty nasty with each other so be sure to provide places to shelter behind...rocks, driftwood...anything to break up space in the aquarium. I'm sure you'll enjoy them!

I understand they are semi-aquatic.... how much land should I provide? Does anyone have a care sheet to this genus? There isn't one at Caudate Central that I could find (or at least not for this species... I'll check again to be sure).

Greg

Hi Greg, they are totally aquatic as adults in my experience, and need plenty of hiding places, as Tim mentioned because of their aggressive behaviour between males.The juvies when rearing are different than other paramesotriton as mine take to the water after only a month or two on land after transformation. Then they grow like pigs feeding on blackworms, earthworms ect...Keep your adults cool in well oxygenated aquaria. Good luck!

Greg, I once bought 8 warty newts from a pet shop. They turned out to be 3 different species. So don't rule out the possibility that they are from different sources entirely.