Juvenile coloration of <i>Pachyhynobius</i>?

E

erik

I was wondering if anyone here has seen juvenile or larval Pachyhynobius? I imported some Pachyhynobius that have nice blue dots all over them and I am trying to decide if this is simply the immature color or maybe this is a new form.

I can't find anything in the literature about the color of juvenile or sub adult P.shangchengensis. I'll try to get pics up soon.

Here is one pic to get started. More to come.....

43536.jpg

These guys are VERY aggressive. Most came in with regenerated limbs and now most of them need to go through the process again. I have 7 small specimens separated into three 48" tanks and they are still tearing each others limbs off.

One with regenerated leg:
44054.jpg

44055.jpg

44056.jpg

As far as I know subadutls like these have these spots (I have seen it with people who first bought some), but they disappaer when they grow older. I think it is seen in many Hynobius species too. But I am no expert on these creatures.

Serg is correct in that a number of hynobiids (but not all) have temporary spots in the juvenile stage that are very much like that -- H. tokyoensis, H. nigrescens, H. takedai and H. lichenatus come immediately to mind -- but outside the Genus Hynobius, I don't know if such spots are present in juveniles of species in other genera of the Family Hynobiidae, like Batrachuperus and Ranodon. The markings seen in juveniles of the Genus Onychodactylus are somewhat different, at least in the case of O. japonicus.

Nice animal, Erik
biggrin.gif

Thanks Serge and Tim. I expect them to lose the spots and become 'regular' Pachyhynobius since they are all somewhat smaller than adult P.shangchengensis. I was intrigued though since they were said to have come from a different province and they seem to be a lot more aggressive than my other Pachyhynobius. Time will tell I guess.....