Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Paramesotriton sp. husbandry

F

filipe

Hi everyone,

I have the chance of getting some Paramesotriton (I think it's P. fuzhongensis) but before I do so I'd like to pose some questions about keeping this group of newts.

I've been keeping for the last years a number of species (c.o., T. dobrogicus, P.waltl) but it's my first time with these guys. I'm aware that they are highly aquatic aggressive species but I'd like to know from your personal experience about vivaria design, reproduction and whatever tips you have.

Thanks in advance

Filipe

C

chris

I keep mine in fairly deep water (about 10 inches) with mild water flow. Species is important as some (caudopunctatus, fuzhongensis and possibly guanxiensis) prefer faster water currrent than for example hongkongensis. Don't, however, make the tank simulate a torrent, but a slowflowing river. Pile flat rocks to form a 'wall' with many caves in. Paramesotriton like to have cover over their heads. The aquarium should be fairly heavily planted, with plants like Java fern (microsorium pteropus), valisineria sp. (spelling???) and elodia/egeria. Don't put more than one male in an enclosure, and with fuzhongensis no more than 2 females.
I have found that males are far easier to bring into breeding condition than females, which probably require a cooling to around 15C. Don't take them lower as they breed in the cool season (Autumn time) and excessively low temps can reduce reproduction success.