Shredded Lips!!!!!!

T

teesha

at the pet shop there is an axoltol, One day it was fine, the nest it looked as iff someone attacked its lips with a shredder. the nest it healed a bit, then nest same stroey, it got worse.
today he lips looked shredded again, the flesh appeared to be hanging off her, im a sort of expert, its not fungus it looks like her skin. Either she rammed into the jagged log ornament several times or i don't know what!!!
my work mate think's its a fungus....i doubt it.. its not cottony....its thick white short shredds.
What could it be, do u think my assumption is right? what shoudl we do. Salt baths? what concentration again??

I would personally suggest a solution of 1 teaspoon of salt per 1 litre of water, bathed twice a day for 10 minutes. Also it may be in the Axolotl's best interests to put it into a hospital tank in the fridge to reduce stress and get him away from whatever is causing the problems.

People may suggest more salt per litre but because this is to aid healing and not to get rid of fungus etc. i wouldn't suggest a higher concentration.

This may sound nasty but i wouldn't suggest claiming you are an expert when you have spelt Axolotl wrong and then asked advice on 1 of the most common treatments for skin problems.

(Message edited by morph on February 09, 2007)

thanx dan. Sorry i wrote "sort of an expert" so ppl would trust my oppinion on saying that it wasn't fungus coz thats what my boss thought it was and i know its not. it was skin for sure, but by all mean i most certianly don't know everything about axolotls. And i just type fast thats why i make heaps of typos but i do know the correct spelling of axolotls.
i thought it was one teaspoon, glad to knwo my memory is right!
so u rcon the salt bath and fridge will help it heal even though its not fungus?