Sick axie with fungus - looking for sydney vet

K

karen

Hi all. I am very new to this. My son bought an axie last week - but it was a very hot day 38deg C in sydney. the tank got to 27. being newbies we didn't know how harmful this could be. The axie seemed ok for the next couple of days until we noticed it was swimming rapidly trying to scratch at gills. then a white fluffy stuff grew on the gills and it grew rapidly on one side until all gills shrivelled and died off. we bought melafix - recommended by pet shop, on the first day we saw the stuff on gills. they said put it in tank 1/2 dose and paint on affected area in 50/50 dilution. as axie got worse i started the internet search and found this web site. i looked up similar stuff onthe forum and started to keep axie in fridge with 2 x day salt baths. he is not really better after more than1 week of this so i got some merchurochrome and started that in the water he is in when not in salt bath for 3 days - no real change- fungus looks as fluffy as ever. bought some methly blue yesterday. stopped mercurochrome and started methly blue and continue salt baths. he has not eaten for more than about 12-14 days. does anyone know of a vet in sydney who can treat axies?? am i going to be able to save the poor soul - his gills are really badly damaged.

First off, hold off doing the medicines and just continue with the salt baths twice daily like you have been, keeping in the fridge. It will take longer than a week and try not to panic. Gills will grow back, depending on age of axies (our 3yr olds were very badly damaged from poor water quality and they only have the gill stubs with a few bristly looking gill filaments). Axie is probably a bit stressed not only due to the heat (they prefer temps lower than 20C, which you've now realised) but also if the tank was new - hadn't been cycled. So, was your tank cycled b4 adding him? See: http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/cyclingEDK.shtml