Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Do axies shed their skin?

S

stuart

I got a new axie for my birthday last week. He's only a baby. But I'm noticing what looks like shedding skin ... do axies shed? Or is this some sort of infection? Any ideas?

A

annabelle

I am also relatively new to this but from what I can gather axies have been known to shed but usually they eat it so fast that you never see it. As a word of caution tho. My axie (RIP Charlie) had skin peeling off him and he died. I came on here and the lovely people here told me it was most likely an ammonia spike which killed him. U should probably check your ammonia levels. If you dont have the kits for it usually your local pet/aquarium store can test it for you. Another thing to check is if his tail is a bit bent at the end. Its supposed to be a sign of stress. If it is an ammonia spike, a partial water change is probably a good idea to get it down a bit. Im sure there is alot more to consider but I hope this helps.

A

annabelle

One more thing. Did you cycle your tank first and what is your GH/Kh and pH like?

M

mark

Does the "skin" look like mucus or is it more a look like a cotton fuzz. If it looks like mucus then it is shedding, the other is fungus.

J

joleen

I dont think its actually been confirmed as to whether axies shed or not (unless i missed the thread where Ed or Jen confirmed ??).

Welcome Stuart!
happy.gif

Id test your water asap if i were you (ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and ph).
If you dont have a test kit, get a sample and go to your nearest aquarium. Make sure you ask them for the exact result of each though and post them here.
Good luck.

S

sharn